2019: 41 candidates contest for Lagos gov seat, 589 eye Lagos Assembly

The Independent National Electoral Commission in Lagos State on Friday published details of 41 candidates of various political parties in the state for the 2019 elections jostling to become the governor.

A check by a NAN Correspondent at INEC office in Lagos revealed that 589 candidates of different parties are also jostling for 40 seats in the Lagos State House of Assembly.

NAN reports that the INEC timetable and schedule of activities for the 2019 general elections indicated that publication of personal particulars of candidates (CF001) for the governorship and state Houses of Assembly elections would be made on November 9.

Section 31(3) of the Electoral Act, 2010 (as amended), provides that the publication must be made within seven days of the receipt of the form from political parties at the constituency where the candidate intends to contest the election.

The publication on Friday indicated that 41 political parties out of 62 in the state would contest the governorship election while 47 would participate in that of the state house of assembly.

NAN reports that only APC, PDP, SDP, ADC, AD and MPN fielded candidates for all the 40 seats in the state parliament.


2 thoughts on “2019: 41 candidates contest for Lagos gov seat, 589 eye Lagos Assembly

  • April 21, 2021 at 4:11 pm

    436787 898953I genuinely enjoy examining on this internet website , it has got fantastic posts . 224956

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: