INEC releases the final list of Presidential, National Assembly candidates

…SDP refuses to present Jerry Gana despite court order

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has released the final list of presidential candidates ahead of the forthcoming February elections.

The list which was signed by INEC’s Secretary, Rose Oriaran-Anthony was released on its official Twitter handle, with names of the political parties, their presidential candidates and running mates.

On the list are candidates and their running mates to include president Muhammadu Buhari and Vice President Yemi Osinbajo both of the All Progressives Congress, APC.

The Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, presidential candidate, Atiku Abubakar and his running mate, Peter Obi were equally included.

There was a twist in the list as the Social Democratic Party, SDP, refuses to submit the name of Professor Jerry Gana as its presidential candidate.

It will be recalled that the former governor of Cross River state, Mr Donald Duke won the SDP presidential primaries. Gana, who came second however approached the court to interpret a section of the party’s constitution that deals with zoning of offices.

Gana was pronounced as the winner of the presidential primaries based on the constitution of the SDP that provides that the national chairman and presidential candidate of the party will not come from the same zone. Both Chief Olu Falae, National chairman and Duke are from the southern part of the country. This has however pitted Gana against the NWC of the SDP who has refused to accept his candidacy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: