Political Leaders, Pro Democracy Activists, others to honour MKO Abiola as President Elect of Nigeria at June 12 Breakfast ceremony in Lagos

……applaud President Muhammadu Buhari’s endorsement and recognition of June 12 pro democracy struggles…..

…..3 Governors, 5 National Legislators, 7 Eminent Nigerians slated for Highest Democracy Honours and Awards in Lagos 

Conveners of the June 12 Democracy Movement of Nigeria; an umbrella body for pro democracy Leaders, Activists and Stakeholders associated with the June 12 pro democracy struggles in Nigeria wish to announce a grand commemorative plan for the 2019 annual June12 Democracy Day celebrations in Nigeria.

This is against the background of Federal Government’s emergent official recognition of the Day; June 12th as Nigeria’s Democracy Day and Chief MKO Abiola as the winner (President Elect) of the democratic elections conducted on that day in 1993, therefore making this year’s commemoration unique, being the 26th edition to be organised by June 12 Stakeholders and Pro democracy Activists and the very first to be commemorated officially as a public holiday by the entire country in view of the official pronouncement of the Federal Government on 6th June 2018

Federal Government Intervention, according to President Muhammadu Buhari, was an endorsement of the democratic struggles of Nigerians for the revalidation of the free, fair, credible democratic elections held in Nigeria on June 12 1993 but annulled by the Military Government under IBB command, as well as the recognition of the struggles of Nigerians for the restoration of democratic rule in Nigeria, initiated on June 12, 1993, which eventually cost the winner, MKO Abiola his precious life on July 7th 1998 for refusing to compromise the People’s mandate, an unfortunate incident which later culminated into forcing the military to midwife the current democratic dispensation in Nigeria.

Therefore in appreciation of the endorsement and honour done to the struggles of the June 12 pro Democracy Movement by the Federal Government, the historic significance and wider embrace of this year’s commemoration, the June 12 Democracy Movement of Nigeria has designed the 2019 nationwide celebrations to be preceded by a major Breakfast Session of Prayers, Tributes and Honours slated for MKO Abiola’s Residence in Lagos. 

The Breakfast event, which is expected to affirm and honour MKO Abiola as President Elect of Nigeria posthumously (as also strengthened by the eventual declaration of Prof Humphrey Nwosu, Chief Electoral Officer of the June 12 elections), has been scheduled to hold between 8am and 12noon to allow majority of our pro democracy stakeholders and allies join other government planned ceremonies afterwards.To this end the Breafast ceremony has been slated to hold as follows:

DATE: Wednesday, June 12, 2019

VENUE: MKO Abiola Democracy Centre, 46/48 MKO Abiola Crescent, off Toyin Street, Ikeja, Lagos

TIME: 8am prompt to Noon

The theme of this year’s Anniversary, which is to be chaired by Nobel Laureate, Prof Wole Soyinka, Chairman of National Liberation Council of Nigeria, NALICON is: MKO Abiola, Hope ’93 and the prospects of a prosperous Democracy in Nigeria: How far? How well?

Lead Speakers and some of the Speakers slated for Tributes include; Chief Emeka Anyaoku, Chief Ayo Adebanjo, Admiral Ndubuisi Kanu, Gen Alani Akinriade, Commodre Dan Suleiman, Bishop Mathew Kuka, Prof Pat Utomi, Col Umar Abubarkar Dangiwa, Dr Olisa Agbakoba, SAN Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola, Dr Orji Uzor Kalu, Comrade Frank Kokori, Senator Shehu Sani, Pastor Tunde Bakare, Mrs Ayo Obe, Dr. Mrs Oby Ezekwesili, Mr Femi Falana, Madam Ganiat Fawehinmi, Bashorun Dele Momodu,
Mr Kunle Ajibade,
Amb Mrs Nkoyo Toyo,
Comrade Olusegun Mayegun, Festus Keyamo, Alhaji Shetimma Yerima, Comrade Josef Eva among others.

Meanwhile, Tributes and Honours Session of the ceremony will be anchored, as usual, by Veteran Olawale Okunniyi (Convener, June 12 Democracy Movement of Nigeria ) as two fraternal clerics of the June 12 pro democracy struggle, Pastor TB Joshua and Prof Sheik Lakin Akintola, among others are expected to grace the occasion

Furthermore, this year’s commemoration will also be expected to witness the laying of the traditional Wreaths of Honour at the Tomb of the Martyr of Nigerian Democracy, MKO Abiola, and also to feature a historic Roll Call of Honours of Heroes, Heroines and Allies of the June 12 pro democracy struggles both living and departed, just as certificstes for the highest democracy honours and commendations in Nigeria shall be awarded to 3 Governors, 5 National Legislators and 7 eminent Nigerians to be announced on May 29th 2019 by the June 12 Planning Council in recognition of their various contributions to popular Democracy and democratic governance in Nigeria 

It is in the light of the above collaborative spirit and our sincere appreciation to President Muhammadu Buhari for his government official solidarity with June 12 pro democracy struggles that we have also requested the Federal Government and 10 State Governments to nominate 2 Representatives each into the 2019 Planning Council of the June 12 Democracy Day Breakfast Convergence to honour and affirm the supreme sacrifice paid by the late President Elect, Chief MKO Abiola for the restoration of the current democratic dispensation in Nigeria.

Prof Anthony Kila 
(Chairman, Planning Council)

Mr Abdulmumuni Abiola 
(For Hosts)

NB: For further Inquiries, Please do kindly contact: Convener of June 12 Democracy Movement of Nigeria (Veteran Che) on: 08033993867

49 thoughts on “Political Leaders, Pro Democracy Activists, others to honour MKO Abiola as President Elect of Nigeria at June 12 Breakfast ceremony in Lagos

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: