#EdoDecides:Obaseki Declared Winner ….Defeats Oshiohmole, Tinubu, Okunbor, Ize-Iyamu, Tony Kabaka

Gov. Obaseki

With PDP’s 307,955 votes to Ize-Iyamu’s 223,619, Governor Godwin Obaseki of Edo State and PDP’s flagbearer has been re-elected for another four years term.

INEC’s Returning Officer, Prof. Akpofure Rim-Rukeh, announced the result of the election on Sunday.

Rim-Rukeh, while declaring Obaseki winner, said the incumbent governor was returned elected after satisfying all requirements in line with the law.

Obaseki of PDP ran against APC standard-bearer Ize-Iyamu and 13 others.

Obaseki defeated Ize-Iyamu in his Orhionmwon local government, scoring 13,445 to Ize-Iyamu’s 10,458.

It was a hard won battle and sweet victory for Obaseki who was fighting several forces arrayed against him. From his estranged godfather and former national chairman of the APC , Adams Oshiomhole to APC financier in Edo, Hosa Okunbor to self acclaimed democrat and Lagos overbearing godfather, Bola Tinubu.

Even the Benin overfed kingpin, Tony Kabaka surrenders to the people’s will who were ready to make their votes count.

Also, the chairman of PDP campaign council and governor of Rivers state, Nyesome Ezinwo Wike, did a yeoman’s job with his team. He refused to buckle under intimidation from the Inspector General of Police, Mohammed Adamu, who ordered him to leave Edo yesterday. Also, the Independent National Electoral Commission did a good job despite alleged pressure from certain quarters to alter things. 

At the end the Peoples will prevail.

The full results of the 18 local government areas as announced by INEC.

Official result from INEC


APC 5,972

PDP 10,022.

Official result from INEC

Esan South East

APC 9,237

PDP 10,565

Official result from INEC

Owan East

APC 19,295

PDP 14,762

Official result from INEC

Esan Central

APC 6,719

PDP 10,694

Official result from INEC

Ikpoba Okha 

APC 18,218

PDP 41,030

Official result from INEC

Esan North East

APC 6,559

PDP 13,579

Official result from INEC

Egor LGA 

APC 10,202

PDP 27,601

Official result from INEC

Ovia North East

APC 9,907

PDP 16,987

Official result from INEC

Owan West

APC 11,195

PDP 11,483. 


APC 18365

PDP 43498

*Etsako West

APC 26140

PDP 17959


APC 5199

PDP 7870

*Etsako Central

APC 8359

PDP 7478


APC 22963

PDP 20101 

*Etsako East 

APC 17011

PDP 10668

*Esan West

APC 7189

PDP 17434

Orhionmwon Result 

APC 10458



10 thoughts on “#EdoDecides:Obaseki Declared Winner ….Defeats Oshiohmole, Tinubu, Okunbor, Ize-Iyamu, Tony Kabaka

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: