#OndoDecides20202:”Vote Not Fight” 5 Takeaways From Peace Accord Ceremony

1. INEC Chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu promised not to lower the bar below the standard INEC  conducted Edo State gubernatorial election and advised all stakeholders that will be  involved in Ondo State gubernatorial election not  to lower the bar too so as to ensure free, fair and credible election INEC guaranteed. He assured of INEC’s readiness for the election. 

2. Come out and vote – DIG Adeleye Oyebade. 

“We are going to be professional than before and protect the fundamental  human rights of people to vote. The police will improve on what we have done in Edo State. We are going to be fair to all and not allow any group to  disrupt  the election”

3. Power belongs to Allah – Sultan of Sokoto, Sa’adu Abubakar. 

The winner has been ordained by Allah, power belongs to him, we don’t know them.  Election in Edo State was the best so far in recent time. 

Sultan Sa’adu Abubakar appealed to the candidates to see the accord as a covenant not just commitment and they should tell voters what they will do for them and let them decide who to vote for. 

“Do not say what you will not do, it’s a sin before Allah”. 

He thanked  security agencies and INEC  for what they did in Edo and what they promised to do here in Ondo State to make election free, fair and violence free. 

To the youth, the Sultan said:. “You are the victims because the children of the elite contesting are not on the streets. Youth should not be used please. Cast  your votes and make sure your votes count and INEC has promised us that the votes would count. Do not allow yourselves to be used by the politicians”

4. Oba Akinruntan, Olugbo of Ugbo and Chairman, Ondo State Council of Traditional Rulers appealed to the candidates to maintain peace during the election. 

5. Father Matthew Kukah, representing the National Peace Committee, assured that the Committee would always give INEC the necessary support to achieve peaceful, free and fair elections.  He advised the candidates, political parties and other stakeholders to make sure that the election is peaceful, free and fair.

Fourteen candidates  including the incumbent governor and APC  candidate, Arakunrin Oluwarotimi Akeredolu, the PDP candidate, Eyitayo Jegede, the ZLP candidate, Agboola Ajayi, among  others signed the peace accord.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: