NSA Approves Appointment Of Zonal Coordinators

By Bukar Bolori

The National Security Adviser (NSA), Major General Babagana Monguno (Rtd) has approved the appointment of Zonal Coordinators for the National Centre for the Control of Small Arms and Light Weapons (NCCSALW).

This was disclosed on Friday by the Pioneer National Coordinator of the Centre; Major General AM Dikko (Rtd) following the accent by the NSA.

The appointment of the Zonal Coordinators for the six geopolitical zones was in pursuant to the mandate of the Centre and to further operationalize its activities towards the eradication of illicit small Arms and Light Weapons (SALW) nationwide.
The appointed Zonal Coordinators comprise senior retired officers from the security agencies. The appointees include; AVM HU Mohammed (Rtd) for the North-West Zone, Major General HI Bature(Rtd) – North Central and  Rear Admiral AS Mohammed(Rtd) – North East. Others include, Mr Akinlade Ben Sola (Rtd) from the Department of State Service for the South-West Zone, Major General Okechukwu Ugo (Rtd) – South-East and Major General IM Obot (Rtd) for the South-South Zone.
In a statement by the National Coordinator, the appointees are qualified senior experienced officers from the security agencies selected to administer the affairs of the Centre at the sub-national level. The appointment of the Zonal Coordinators closely follows the approval for the establishment of Zonal Centres in the 6 geoplolitical zones namely, Kaduna, Minna, Maiduguri, Ado-Ekiti, Enugu and Calabar.

The appointments were done in a bid to ensure the attainment of the Centre’s mandate in ensuring an Arms-Free society.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *