Buni Returns As Yobe Governor

By Bukar Bolori

Yobe State Governor, Hon. Mai Mala Buni of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has been return re-elected.

He was declared winner of the governorship election by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Sunday in Damaturu.

Announcing the result, Professor Umar Pate, the returning officer at the election, said that Mai Mala Buni of APC scored a total of 317,113 votes to defeated his closest opponent, Alhaji Sheriff Abdullahi of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) that polled 104,259 votes.

Garba Umar of New Nigerian People’s party (NNPP) polled 14,246 votes to come third.

The returning officer after announcing the votes of the candidates, said: “I Professor Umar Pate hereby certify that Mai Mala Buni, having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of the votes, is hereby declared winner of the election”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *