Ooni, Lawan, Gbajabiamila, Okonjo- Iweala, Governors, Others Get National Award

The Arole Oduduwa & Ooni of Ife, Ooni Adeyeye Enitan Ogunwusi Ojaja II, Senate President Ahmed Lawan, Speaker House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila and other prominent Nigerians were today (Tuesday) conferred with awards of National Honours at the International Conference Center (ICC), Abuja venue of the 2022 National Honours Award Investiture Ceremony by President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR.

Ooni’s certificate of award of CFR

Ooni Ogunwusi, Natural Head of the Oduduwa race worldwide who doubles as Co-chairman, National Council of Traditional Rulers of Nigeria (NCTRN) was described while being decorated by President Buhari as a great advocate of Youth and Women Empowerment, a passionate Promoter of Peace and Unity in Africa and an exemplary selfless leader relentlessly doing his best preserving the cultural values of the African people, while Senate President Lawan was honoured in recognition of his unquantifiable contributions to nation building through the legislature.

Other worthy Nigerians who were honoured with the awards also witnessed by the Vice President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo SAN include Speaker of the House of Representatives, Rt. Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila CFR, Chief Judge of the Federation, Justice Kayode Ariwoola GCON, Dr. Ngozi Okonjo Iweala GCON, Deputy Senate President, Ovie Omo-Agege CFR, Head of Service, Dr. Folasade Esan CFR and other top government officials.

Apart from the Ooni of Ife who got CFR (Commander of The Federal Republic), other notable Nigerian monarchs who were also honoured by President Buhari are: Emir of Kano, Alhaji Aminu Ado Bayero CFR, Oba of Benin Omo N’Oba Ewuare II CFR, Alhaji Ahmed Nuhu Bamali Emir of Zazzau CFR, Prof James Ortese Ayatse Tor Tiv V Benue CFR,Alhaji Abubakar Shehu Abubakar III Emir of Gombe CFR,Alhaji Muhammadu ibn Abali Idrissa Emir of Fika CFR, Jacob Gyang Buba Gbong Gwom Jos CFR,Justice Sidi Bage Muhammad I Emir of Lafia CFR,King Dandeson Douglas JAJA King Jaja of Opobo CFR,Oba Gabriel Adejuwon, Onisan of Isan Ekiti CFR, Oba (Dr) Aladetoyinbo Aladelusi,Odundun II. Deji of Akure CFR, Oba Babatunde Ajayi, Akarigbo of Remo CFR, His Eminence, Ntenyin (Dr) Solomon Daniel Etuk, JP Oku Ibom Ibibio Akwa Ibom CFR, Ogiame Atuwatse III Olu of Warri CFR, Igwe Amb. Lawrence Agubuzu Igwe of Eziama CFR, King Alfred Diete-Spiff Chairman, Bayelsa Council ofChiefsCFR,Eze (Dr) E. C. Okeke Chairman Imo Council of Chiefs CFR, Eze Joseph Nwabeke Chair Abia Councilof Chiefs CFR, Eze Charles N. Nkpuma Chairman, Ebonyi Council of Chiefs CFR, the Odole Oodua, Sir Dr. Kessington Adebutu CFR, Mr. Jim Ovia CFR,Chief Wole Olanipekun, SAN Legal Practitioner CFR and Tony O. Elumelu Business Executive CFR.Ms. Josephine Agu, an Airport Cleaner who some years ago returned $12,200 found in a toilet at MMIA, Lagos and Ogbanago Muhammed Ibrahim, a Bank Security man who found and returned a $10,000 were given FRM II and FRM I respectively while the late Super Eagles striker, Rashidi Yekini got a posthumous honour of OFR.

Foreigners in Nigeria who have made tremendous economic impact in the country were not left outas Mr. Pierre Vandebeek Businessman, George Stavros Coumantaros (Posthumous) Mr. Deepak Singhal, Dr. Attia A. Nasreddin, Chief Nabil A. Saleh (JP), Mr. Faysal M. El-Khalil and Mr. Ronald Chagoury became OFR recipients.Rt. Hon. Ahmed Idris Wase Dep. Speaker, House of Representatives CON, H.E Alhaji Mai Mala Buni Governor Yobe CON, H.E. Oluwarotimi O. Akeredolu, SAN Governor Ondo CON, H.E. Abubakar Atiku Bagudu Governor Kebbi CON, H.E. Engr. David Nweze Umahi, Governor Ebonyi CON, H.E. Rt. Hon. Lawrence Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi Governor Enugu CON, H.E. Rt. Hon. Simon Bako Lalong Governor Plateau CON, H.E. Prof Ben Ayade Governor Cross River CON, H.E. Arc. Dickson Darius Ishiaku Governor Taraba CON, H.E. Malam Nasir Ahmad El-Rufai Governor Kaduna CON, H.E. Dr Kayode Fayemi Governor Ekiti CON,H.E. Dr. Ifeanyi Arthur Okowa Governor Delta CON, H.E. Prof Babagana Umara Zulum Governor Borno CON, High Chief Dr. Mike Ozekhome, SAN Legal Practitioner CON and Dr. Tein T.S. Jack-Rich Jnr CON.

The Olowa of Igbaraoke HRH Oba Francis Agbede, Adefarakanmi Agbede got OFR, Prince Rotimi Ibidapo got OON while Imam Abdullahi Abubakar Religious leader who hidover 262 Christians in his mosque from attacks in Yelwa Gindi Akwati village, Plateau state and musical legends likeAlhaji Wasiu Ayinde Marshal (K1) Innocent Idibia (2face) and Teniola Apata (Teni) were all given MON awards.

Ooni Ogunwusi was accompanied to the National Honours Award Investiture by his wife, Olori Mariam Ajibola Ogunwusi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *