Just In: APC Dissolves Rivers Excos, Names Wike’s Loyalists As Caretaker Committee Members

The National Working Committee of the Ruling All Progressives Congress has announced the dissolution of the executive of the Rivers State chapter of the party.

The Abdullahi Ganduje-led NWC also disclosed that a caretaker committee that will oversee the conduct of a congress to elect new excos has been put in place.

The development came two months after some chieftains of the party loyal to a former Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi, and led by the state governorship candidate, Tonye Cole, lamented that President Bola Tinubu has subtly sacrificed them for the Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, Nyesom Wike, and his loyalists.

Addressing journalists at the party secretariat on Wednesday, the National Publicity Secretary of the APC, Felix Morka, said the inauguration of the committee members will take place at the party secretariat on Friday.

The drama, however, took a new twist when Morka, who was flanked by the Deputy National Publicity Secretary, Duro Ladipo, reeled out the names of Wike’s loyalists as members of the seven-man caretaker committee.

He said, “The caretaker committee will have Chief Tony Okocha as chairman and Eric Nwibani as Secretary.

“The inauguration of the committee members will take place here at the party secretariat on Friday.”

Morka also said the caretaker committee will hold office for six months until substantive new executive members of Rivers APC are elected into office.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *